Archive | 11:38 pm

Crumbs Bake Shop

9 Jun

9465 Little Santa Monica Blvd
Beverly Hills, CA 90210

Virginia: Crumbs, you will be my first bad review and I am genuinely sorry because you had a very nice young man working there and he was very helpful and knew everything there was to know about your cupcakes. Unfortunately, that will probably be the only positive thing that I will write in this review. First off, I didn’t really like the feeling I got when I walked into the cupcakery, but that’s just me and in the end Crumbs does have a playful atmosphere. The fun thing about Crumbs is that there are a crazy amount of flavors even though some were quite questionable. Such as Baba Booey, Watermelon, Galaxy Swirl, Cosmo, Good Guy and Pink Lemonade. As fun as those sound, I didn’t know what half of those were (hence me asking the guy that worked there twenty questions), and many of them looked so artificial that they didn’t look appetizing at all. The Cosmo was neon pink, that’s all I’m going say about that one. I will say that they have a Colossal Cupcake which looks pretty incredible. I’ve never seen anything like it and if I was trying to impress my boss I would bring their child (if they had one), a Colossal Cupcake. Also, my friend/gf Meredith told me that the Crumbs in new york city is amazing and better than the Sprinkles there, so maybe change of location is also change of taste in cupcake. But regardless, this blog is called LACUPCAKES, so Crumbs, I’m sorry once again, but your massive cappuccino cupcake, (which I split with Emily and didn’t really taste like cappuccino), made me feel a bit sick and was overly sweet. Some people may be into everything that I just described and I say to you, go to Crumbs, but I will not be going back.

Emily: I didn’t like this cupcake much either mainly because it had too much frosting and was overly sweet and also too expensive for what it was. Virginia’s reaction to this cupcake was almost pure anger although I didn’t think it was that terrible. This place would be great for kids because all of the odd flavors and the sweetness factor but it just wasn’t for me. I originally thought this place was closed because it looked kind of dark and nobody was there and the sprinkles just a few blocks down was sooo crowded. At least we had somewhere to sit and eat it though. The best thing about crumbs is the colossal cupcake which was massive and cost $35. I think for a kid’s birthday that would be the greatest thing ever. Virginia and I both felt a little sick after sharing this cupcake but that might have partially been because we had eaten half of a sprinkles cupcake right before. I’m pretty sure eating all these cupcakes isn’t helping me achieve a beach body. Oh well. Random sidenote: I just stumbled upon this cheesy quote: I keep trying to lose weight….but it keeps finding me. True true.

Split Cupcake: Cappuccino Cupcake

Price: $3.75

Virginia’s Score: 6

Emily’s score: 7

Overall Score: 6.5

Sprinkles Cupcakes

9 Jun

9635 south santa monica boulevard

beverly hills, california 90210

Emily: I think Sprinkles was actually a little better than I remembered it being. I had tried the red velvet before at my cousin’s bridal shower and I remember that it made me feel kind of sick because it was too rich and too big of a cupcake in general. However this most recent tasting session went much better and the cupcakes seemed smaller. Virginia and I shared a pumpkin cupcake even though the cashier suggested we try something else. We wanted the chai latte cupcake but they didn’t have it because apparently they only make those on fridays…? Weird. Anyways it was very crowded in a small space and it seemed like people were picking up large orders. I thought the actual cake didn’t taste like pumpkin but like carrot cake which I don’t like much but the frosting made up for that. Also the ratio of frosting to cake was good. Was this cupcake worth $3.50? Probably not but it was reasonably good. They also have wooden spoons and knives there which was interesting but made it slightly difficult to eat.  In addition to the peculiar utensils, there wasn’t nearly enough seating so we had to walk down the street until we could find someplace to actually eat it. I don’t know why Sprinkles is SO popular when there are little cafes that have cheaper cupcakes that taste better. Maybe it’s because you can order in bulk there and they have more options than say La Provence.

Virginia: This is the thing, I hear so so SO much about Sprinkles, and yeah it’s good but the truth is I’ve had better. Sprinkles is like juicy pants or sweats or whatever those were back in middle school. Everyone just wanted them, but is it really what you want? Eh. I will say that Sprinkles was way better than juicy outfits, partially because I hated those and the cupcake I tried was pretty good. Emily and I had previously decided to try the chai latte cupcake, (how good does that sound?) but apparently they don’t bake those on Wednesdays, but would have them on Friday? Thanks Sprinkles, crush my dreams. So I may have to go back on a Friday in order to fulfill my dreams. Anyway, we ended up splitting a pumpkin cupcake even though we were told by the server that maybe it was best as newcomers to try a different one. I had a Sprinkles cupcake about a year ago and remembered them being massive, but the cupcake size was perfect and the frosting to cake ratio was good as well,  I overall enjoyed it. The frosting was way sweeter than the other ones I’ve tried, but I still liked it.  The pumpkin was good, but didn’t exactly taste like pumpkin, it was a tasty let down since I’m a huge fan of pumpkin. Also, the tiny little bakery was packed and there was basically no seating, I can’t eat my cupcake standing up yo, come on. But considering that most people go there to buy in bulk for parties or what not, I guess they thought seating wasn’t important. On a completely separate and irrelevant note, the Sprinkles bakery looks like a giant piece of chocolate with some pink frosting in the corner that says Sprinkles. I dug that.

Split cupcake: Pumpkin Cupcake

Price: $3.50

Emily’s score: 7.5

Virginia’s score: 8

Overall score: 7.75