Archive | 2:58 am

La Provence Patisserie

8 Jun

11677 San Vicente Boulevard
Los Angeles, CA 90049-5123

Virginia: I’m actually a little bit worried about La Provence because every single place that has opened in that very location has closed down, and I really like this place so I’m hoping that this curse will be broken. I’m almost certain that their cupcakes will help break the curse. I tried a chocolate (probs dark chocolate) cupcake with cream cheese frosting. I have never tried cream cheese frosting even though my friend is always talking about it and every time we go try a cupcake she insists on asking about the cream cheese frosting and is super upset when they don’t carry them. Natalya is such a puppy!!! Anyway, I finally took the chance, and I really liked it! Very creamy, that shouldn’t be much of a surprise but for some reason it was to me. The first bite was a little strange because it was a bit of a shock but I ended up devouring it in under 5 seconds after helping our friend Aimee move. The bread part of the cupcake was perfectly moist and there was also a perfect amount of frosting, not too much and not too little. Heavy lifting of boxes calls for a delish cupcake and I was so happy that La Provence was there for me. On a different note the place is very cute and it has a nice kind of romantic atmosphere. BEST DATE EVER. La Provence also has tons of other sweets including these colorful macaroons which I couldn’t stop staring at and really wanted to try…going back fairlyyyy soon.

Emily: This place can be a bit tricky to find if you don’t know the Brentwood area but it’s in the Brentwood Gardens complex on the top level on the left. I had a red velvet cupcake with cream cheese frosting. It wasn’t overly sweet and the cupcake wasn’t dry either. I’m not normally a fan of red velvet, probably because I’ve never really experienced a red velvet cupcake that was actually of decent quality. This cupcake definitely changed my opinion of red velvet and I’m glad I gave it another chance. Anyways we tried La Provence after helping our friend Aimee move apartments at night and it was the best late night snack ever because we were tired and hungry. Sidenote: Aimee’s new crazy neighbor collects grocery carts and leaves them scattered throughout the building. So the friendly server at La Provence also gave us some insight on what red velvet actually is. Apparently the red color originates from some ingredient in the South that makes it very rich and red (she didn’t specify which south she was referring to, South America or Southern USA but I guess you can look it up on wikipedia). But most red velvet cupcakes are just chocolate with red food dye. Interesting! Also this place is really cute and girly and the chandeliers were a nice touch.

Virginia’s Cupcake: Chocolate with cream cheese frosting

Price: $3.25

score: 8.5

Emily’s Cupcake: Red Velvet with cream cheese frosting

Price: $3.25

score: 8.5

Overall score: 8.5